Wincanton's focused community website, providing news and information including a full calendar
News » Schools/Children » Our Lady of Mt Carmel

Lucky Duckies Bring Racing Fun to Recreation Ground

Monday 20 May 2013, 11:18
By Mandy Cochrane

Commentary on the race

Parents and friends of Our Lady of Mount Carmel Primary School organised a lovely afternoon of Duck Races at Wincanton Recreation Ground on Sunday 19th May to raise money for the school's PTFA.

Having had a break of a couple of years, the traditional event was revived this year to a big welcome and an enthusiastic crowd.

Karen Newman and Tracey SeagerKaren Newman and Tracey Seager organised much of the event and masterminded the complicated-looking charts which tracked each race, the ducks, their sponsors and the winners. Darrell Seager meanwhile, officiated each race and all respect to him for wading up and down through what must have been pretty chilly water for several hours and being very entertaining.

With fine weather and a lazy river, children had lots of fun splashing around while families brought picnics or enjoyed hot food from a tasty catering stand. Thanks must go to the various people who cleared rubbish from the river before the event to make sure the children came to no harm.

Winners of each of the 20 races received prizes of chocolate and then all the winners took part in a grand final. I was lucky enough to win one of the races myself and amazed when my lucky ducky came first in the grand final, too, winning my family a fantastic day pass at Butlins in Minehead.

Wellie Wanging was also part of the fun and many of the children enjoyed having their faces painted.


This lovely afternoon, held in such a green and pleasant environment brings home to me how important this space is to the community, and the potential it has to host other outdoor events. I'm very much looking forward to seeing the Town Council's plans to renovate the area on 7th June.

Duck Race Winners

Race 1 Natasha Shafter
Race 2 Lily Morton
Race 3 Brian Matthews
Race 4 Charlie Newman
Race 5 Kieran Pollard-James
Race 6 Jane Sexton
Race 7 Owen Marsh
Race 8 Sally Munford
Race 9 James Adam
Race 10 Nikki Davies
Race 11 Mandy Cochrane
Race 12 Ruth Hilborne
Race 13 Stephen Leydon
Race 14 Miss Fishlock
Race 15 Kelly Taylor
Race 16 Adam Rolls
Race 17 Isabelle & Haydn Nash Smith
Race 18 Maria Pink
Race 19 Thomas Williams
Race 20 Thomas Williams

Welly Wanging Winners

Pre-Schooler Barnaby Taylor (3m)
Infant Cleona Tinsley (11.60m)
Junior Georgia Davies (14.10m)
Women Fran Taylor (16.10m)
Men Bradley Perry (25.30m)


Login to comment!

© 2009 Wincanton Window    -    Site designed, hosted and maintained by Link-2